22
Oct
08

How are you playing Cannons by Phil Wickham?

I’m back in the saddle this weekend leading worship and I’ve seen many of you playing Cannons by Phil Wickham and it’s given me the encouragement to bring it out. I LOVE the song and so, why not? Looks like on the CD he’s playing it in A and it’s actually a super easy song it looks like to play: mostly in G with no quirky chords. I’m just curious if you’re using any alternate tunings or something to make it sound special? We’ll probably crank it out like it is on the studio CD with 2 electrics but I’m also thinking of breaking it down and using it with just me on the acoustic with our Youth like it is on Singalong. Seems the song is amazing either way! 

 

10 Responses to “How are you playing Cannons by Phil Wickham?”


  1. October 22, 2008 at 9:04 pm

    Is that Adam Watts playing drums with PW at Harvest? Looks like him. And one of the Rodriguez brothers playing bass…?

  2. 2 Brent
    October 23, 2008 at 7:34 am

    Yup, he’s in A but he’s tuned down half a step.

    I’d rock it acoustic.

  3. October 23, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    Brent is right….A and Phil always has his guitar tuned down but not half step…
    I met him last month and asked him what tuning he prefers and he said…D tuning..so whole step.
    I play it in A capo 2 so with G shape.
    I prefer it in the singalong version. I love the rawness of it. It just fits this song.

  4. October 23, 2008 at 12:40 pm

    By the way…My site moved…can you change your blogroll
    and resubscribe to my new feed.
    new site is http://klampert.com thanks bro!

  5. October 23, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    Ugh it had me logged into my old account…this is better. lol

  6. October 23, 2008 at 11:06 pm

    Well, against popular opinion I went full band! More on that on my debrief on Monday.

    I also don’t see how ya’ll are keeping it in A. I dropped it to G and thought there were certain spots too high. Not necessarily too high for me but now that I’ve been in the congregation more, I’m trying to be sensitive to the keys for the ‘normal non-singers’ in the congregation. Don’t think I’ll ever go higher than G and if I do it acoustic I’ll most certainly do it in Gb.

  7. March 31, 2013 at 6:36 pm

    hello!,I really like your writing very much! share
    we keep up a correspondence more about your article on AOL?
    I require an expert on this area to resolve my problem.
    Maybe that’s you! Taking a look forward to see you.

  8. 8 TJ Hurst
    June 18, 2013 at 1:18 am

    Hey, not sure if it’s helpful, but on the Cannons CD, he’s most definitely playing the song in Eb. God bless you guys!

  9. 9 TJ Hurst
    June 18, 2013 at 1:29 am

    Ah but you were talking about Singalong 2, sorry about that I got confused! (:

  10. June 19, 2014 at 8:10 am

    We absolutely love your blog and find nearly all of your post’s to
    be exactly I’m looking for. Does one offer guest writers to write content available for you?
    I wouldn’t mind producing a post or elaborating on some
    of the subjects you write about here. Again, awesome site!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


