24
Oct
08

Returning Home

I get to see my brother for the first time in six months today. Six months used to be the length of time I had no interest on my credit card. It used to be how long I had for no payment on my loan. Six months used to be that magical number between Christmas and my birthday and then Christmas again. I used to try and do long term planning for a six month block of time. (How’s that for ‘long term’ ha!) 

Six months has now passed and I get to see my brother again. In a way, it’s gone by so quick. Then I look at my son Gavin and remember that the last time my brother saw my wife and son was in the hospital after his birth. Gavin’s now a lil beefcake barely fitting in his 6-9 month clothes. Trying to sit up and stand up on his own! Six months has been quite some time. 

I remember feeling hurt and angry at the beginning of this trial. Confused and scared. Through this ordeal, I began to embrace this song Home by Dave and the boys with the Foo Fighters. I hope he’s been singing it. If you’re the praying sort, then pray for the reuniting of my family this weekend. We’re all extremely happy to have him back but the hard part starts now. The rebuilding and the moving forward. 

Wish I were with you
I couldn’t stay
Every direction
Leads me away
Pray for tomorrow
But for today

All I want is to be home

Stand in the mirror
You look the same
Just lookin’ for shelter
From cold and the pain
Someone to cover
Safe from the rain

All I want is to be home

Echoes and silence
Patience and grace
All of these moments
I’ll never replace
No fear of my heart
Absence of faith

All I want is to be home
All I want is to be home

People I’ve loved
I have no regrets
Some I remember
Some I forget
Some of them living
Some of them dead

All I want is to be home

0 Responses to “Returning Home”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


