30
Oct
08

Crucial Website Info

We’re in the process of giving our church website a complete overhaul. I’ve been dragging my feet on my student pages.

SO, here’s what may be of interest to you: 

  1. Link me your church’s site and/or student page and what you think is crucial to have on there.
  2. Check back b/c I’ll be compiling a giant list of my observations on what I’ve found.

I’ve already spent over an hour pouring over various student sites! 

FYI, here’s ours right now: http://www.rivercommunity.org

Thanks in advance!

7 Responses to “Crucial Website Info”


  1. October 30, 2008 at 12:45 pm

    Hey, our youth site is http://www.brokenpsalm51.org
    Must haves:
    Calendar of events!
    Lots of images! (check our events page)
    Forms to fill out: Information form for parents to fill out on their child, and a standard permission form.
    I also do a Leaders page, that is password protected. It has info that the students don’t need to see, but that helps us communicate to each other.
    I do a school stuff page with info from each school represented in the youth group.
    Of course service, but more importantly the vision for the youth ministry.
    Polls are fun.
    Videos.
    Also links to individual students social networking sites.
    Hope this helps . . . Also, i have Twitter updates on there!

    Hey, call me about next Saturday. Partlow and Justin are up for Saturday. Thinking . . . maybe 11 am to about 1 or 2 pm? I will have PA set up.

    Later,
    Jason

  2. October 30, 2008 at 1:39 pm

    I need your email to send you pdfs of songs for next Saturday.
    Jason

  3. October 30, 2008 at 3:48 pm

    do mr. potato head. pleaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaase.

  4. October 30, 2008 at 3:50 pm

    Calendar is big!

    Pictures – lots of pics of REAL people doing REAL things. People like to see people who look like them – I’m serious. So lots of pics of real people, not models.

    Current updates as to what’s going on – what just happened is as important as what’s coming up.

    Who you are, what you’re doing, and how they can fit in.

    I don’t run our youth ministry – I’m the children’s pastor. But I do run the website! We’re working on the youth site now, so I’ll be interested in your results. Here’s our children’s site…

    http://www.gospellightcommunitychurch.com/kidzport.php

  5. October 31, 2008 at 2:09 pm

    thinking about this one…
    I actually like models on the site, but we are working on some video testimonies as well.

    Calendar is good…
    link to facebook group…
    media (video/audio)
    pictures or flickr
    news info of other stuff
    I have mine on wordpress so I have the ability to have comments on anything I put up which is huge..

  6. November 2, 2008 at 10:26 pm

    I am in the process of working with my church to develop their first website. I have already developed and maintain our youth site – http://www.brokenpsalm51.org
    I too am pushing into the wordpress direction with the church site. Thats what I used for the youth site.
    What I like about using a CMS like wordpress is the ability to update in real time the site, as well as take down pages or sections that just are not being visited or either disrupt the flow. Plus when you put up the pictures of the deacons in less than favorable light then you take them down before you get that call at 3am wondering exactly where you are at that time, and is your door locked. Just a little advice . . .

  7. November 2, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    Also Conner, check out http://music.jasonmdurham.com

    It is the site that I am using for this new worship project.
    It’s titled Ashah.

    Description is on there.

    Hey . . . talk to Justin. Need to be at church for 9:45 Sat AM for a 10 AM kickoff. Wrap up around 12:30 PM so we can get home to watch LSU on CBS.

    Later
    Jason


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


