04
Nov
08

My Day Off

So seriously, I basically took the day off…from life today. I mean I plopped my butt down on the mower and cut the grass and weed eated (is that how you say that?) and cleaned up a bit but other than that I took the day off. I gave you a cool video post promoting Starbuck’s coffee giveaway and I hung out on some of your blogs this evening but otherwise, I lounged…nearly all day.

Here’s why I say this: time off is needed! REST is important. Otherwise we keep going and going and going and going. I’m the biggest offender! I took my wife and kids, and my youth group, and a band and led worship for a Youth Retreat this Summer. That was dumb. I was not a great person to be around at the end of that week. And I do stuff like that all the time! We should be conscious and aware of how we spend our time and energy. It’s hip and cool to talk about how we spend our money because of the economy but what about how you spend the other areas of your life? So kick back and take a siesta! Maybe you have to schedule one? So what. Do it! I guess my Mom was right about that also: rest is good son!

3 Responses to “My Day Off”


  1. November 4, 2008 at 8:17 am

    rest is a spiritual discipline. do it.

    🙂

  2. November 4, 2008 at 9:18 am

    what is rest? I have worship practice tonight, then wed night worship, then youth council on thurs night, then friday night have to test and setup satellite for saturday event, then sat morning we have this cool music thing happening then at 2:30 to 6 on saturday we have that cool thing at church, the lsu game on big screen and PA, then prep saturday night for sunday youth worship, then sunday morning lead worship, breath until 3 pm on sunday, then get to church to setup for sunday night worship, get home at 9 Sunday night . . . sleeeeeeeeeep. Monday morning hit regular 40 hour job. Oh . . . all this week, I still have my 40 hour week job.

    REMEMBER TO VOTE!

  3. November 4, 2008 at 10:42 pm

    @Jason dude I think we talked earlier about how to try and avoid ‘burn out.’ Did you not listen to any of that 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


