05
Nov
08

Congratulations President Barack Obama

Thank You Barack Obama

Congratulations Barack Obama. Yes, that’s ok to say people. No, I did not vote for Mr. Obama but I did vote! I am reminded of what our Pastor preached a few weeks back regarding our views for leadership: 

Civil governments are instituted by God from Romans 13:1 

Let every person be subject to the governing authorities. For there is no authority except from God, and those that exist have been instituted by God.

and that means that I will vote and use my responsibility well and then pray for who is elected and put in position. Not everyone voted for Bush but nearly everyone bad mouthed him at one point or another. I do not want to do that to President Obama, especially before he has even begun! 

I’m also reminded of Proverbs 3:5

Trust in the Lord with all your heart and lean not on your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will make your paths straight.

I’ve read that a BILLION times and it wasn’t until I saw the first word of that verse in a new light that it truly sunk in: TRUST. God desires a relationship with us. He desires to direct our paths and lead along straight roads but we must first submit. We must first trust.  

My faith does not rest in a Governor, Senator, or a President, it rests in an Almighty and Powerful God. I’ll sleep as easy tonight as I did last night. I will trust in the Lord. 

Congratulations President Obama, I pray you are responsible and wise with the authority given to you. 

5 Responses to “Congratulations President Barack Obama”


  1. November 5, 2008 at 8:04 am

    Wow! Great attitude. If I am honest with myself I don’t think I can bring myself to quite say yet “Congratulations…” But our pastor, gave us a great message and I need to take comfort in our SOVEREIGN God, whom is TRULY in control. Thanks for the reminder.

  2. November 5, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Good words Conner. I am scared of what the world sees when it looks at the body of Christ and sees hatred for a person or people made in the image of God. Your thoughts are needed all across our country.

  3. November 6, 2008 at 12:41 am

    been hearing romans 13 a lot these days… very true.

  4. 5 Ali
    November 12, 2008 at 2:25 am

    Wow…not that I didn’t already respect you, but this post just added even more respect for you in my book!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


