12
Nov
08

Better than the Witness Protection Program

Old me 3 years ago Manager at Chase Bank 

  • Blue buttoned down shirt, black dress slacks, tie, & on some days a suit coat
  • Day started with a wretched commute, often times headed downtown
  • PMI, DIR, DDA, IRA all spoken dozens of time each day
  • Friday morning debriefs, Monday morning kickoffs, Wednesday afternoon check ins, daily customer service calls
  • Business travel to Chicago, Dallas, Houston, New Orleans
  • Interview and train new employees
  • Saw clearly a path ahead of me with a swanky car, corner office, and fat retirement
  • I had a magnetic name tag and was addressed as Mr. Conner Byrd

Me now Today Youth Director at River Community Church

  • Graphic tee, favorite blue jeans, & track jacket on some days
  • Time commute away from traffic, often times headed to Starbucks
  • facebook, blog, twitter all spoken and used all day long
  • Tuesday morning worship planning, staff, and prayer time, countless lunches and coffees with students, volunteers, parents, associates 
  • Mission trip to Dallas, Retreats to Mississippi
  • Recruit and manage volunteers
  • Not even sure exactly what I might be doing in another 3 years but it certainly won’t have a car or corner office 🙂 
  • Addressed as That Youth Guy

I think my old buddies and managers quit asking me if I missed it and when I was coming back as my response got quicker and quicker with “No” and “Never.” Hahaha. 

As Glamorous came on the radio on the way to lunch with ‘If you ain’t got no money take your broke ass home‘ the resounding message of Fatherly wisdom passed on to Fergilicious, I couldn’t help but think that I’m so glad God called me where I am today. I left some dear friends there but I couldn’t ask to do something other than what I’m doing right now. 

…wow those old photos are hilarious though 🙂 

    6 Responses to “Better than the Witness Protection Program”


    1. November 12, 2008 at 10:04 am

      Skippy, meet Jesus. Jesus, Skippy.

      I have no idea why that popped into my mind as soon as I saw those pics, but there you go.

      Props for the courageous posting of old pics. I have high school pics that will never see the light of my blog. Unless I’m offered cash.

    2. November 12, 2008 at 11:13 am

      ha ha…thats fantastic……..crazy old pic..

    3. November 12, 2008 at 11:43 am

      I like the “new you” better!

    4. November 12, 2008 at 1:32 pm

      I want to see pics from the Soapbox days! That there would be some funny stuff!

    5. November 12, 2008 at 3:30 pm

      Thanks guys. Yeah, I was sent this photo by our Communications staffer here at the church. I figured before she’d blackmail me that I’d preemptively promote any embarrassing comments here.

      Shawn, I’m glad you approve 🙂 Hahaha.

    6. 6 Matt Adams
      November 14, 2008 at 4:05 pm

      Most adults have to have a certain presentation because of work. Youth ministers are like rock stars. We just let ourselves go. I guess you get a double dose being a want a be rock star and a youth pastor.


    Leave a Reply

        Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 24 other followers

    Categorical Listings


