17
Nov
08

PostSecret this Thursday

PostSecret

There’s this ridiculously powerful movement that started called PostSecret by Frank Warren. The concept is simple:

  1. Get a post card
  2. Tell your secret
  3. Mail it in

It was birthed from a dream Frank Warren had in his hotel room in France and has had an impact  as far reaching as well. There are now 4 books that include the various post cards Fred has received and he visits college campuses all across the US holding art exhibitions and speaking engagements.

This week he is at LSU’s campus here in Baton Rouge, LA. I visited the art exhibit last week with a friend of mine and was leveled by the weight in the room. Maybe a hundred or so postcards around the room revealing secrets from a broken son, from a hurt wife, a celebrating daughter, a humble executive, a hateful student, on and on and on around the room. I’m not sure exactly what the appeal is but I was struck by the humanity of it all. The full range of emotions is almost overwhelming. Fair warning: there is no censorship. This is free speech at it’s core I suppose. I don’t know the condition of Fred’s heart or whether or not he’s even a believer. I do know that he offers Wellness Resources since many of the secrets he receives deal with abuse or suicidal thoughts and such.

I’m interested in going this Thursday night to hear him speak. Any other locals in the area want to come? The Facebook page is found here.

All you out of towners feel free to check out his blog

and PostSecret Community

9 Responses to “PostSecret this Thursday”


  1. 1 danscott77
    November 17, 2008 at 2:37 pm

    dude! I’m so jealous they’re coming to your town… I view new secrets each Sunday from my cube before heading down to work the crowd. Not sure why that’s become so habitual, but it’s like my mantra or something.

    enjoy! tweet it!!

  2. November 17, 2008 at 2:44 pm

    Frank Warren, silly.

  3. 3 Aaron Crawford
    November 17, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Hey, I might be in, this weeks schedule is still forming, so I will let you know soon.

  4. November 17, 2008 at 2:45 pm

    Frank Warren, silly, not Fred. I’m a giant fan of PostSecret – I don’t know why. It’s where people aren’t afraid to be real, I suppose is some of the reason. Thanks for sharing, I’m so gonna go see the exhibit, I’ve wanted to see one for-like-ever. =)

  5. November 17, 2008 at 5:33 pm

    HAHA thank you Michelle! Wow, that was a huge slip 🙂

    Dan I’ll definitely keep you posted on Twitter.

    Aaron! Let me know dude!

  6. 6 Rae
    November 17, 2008 at 5:34 pm

    So were you going to tell me you were going somewhere this Thursday?!?!?! Don’t forget that’s my movie night!!! Twilight at midnight.

  7. November 18, 2008 at 1:03 am

    No worries babe, I’ll be back for your Twilight premiere 🙂

  8. November 23, 2008 at 7:46 am

    Hey my name is Daniel and I am working on a site called http://www.checkmysecret.com where the idea is to post secrets and let people make comments on them.
    Please if you like it I would really appreciate if you could write something about it in your blog. If you have nay questions or you need any extra material my email address is below.
    Take care and thank you very much!!

  9. July 24, 2013 at 7:34 pm

    I just couldn’t leave your website before suggesting that I actually enjoyed the usual info a person provide for your guests? Is going to be back incessantly to check up on new posts


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


