17
Nov
08

Sunday Setlist Nov. 16th – Youth Style!

Tonight we had another Youth worship service and it was wicked sweetness!!! Here we go: 

  • Tell the World – Hillsong United
  • We Won’t Be Quiet – David Crowder*Band
  • Never Let Go – Crowder
  • activity to wrap up our Road Signs series
  • Marvelous Light – Charlie Hall
  • How He Loves – John Mark McMillan

Today was just super special in so many ways but for the purpose of this post, I’ll restrict it to these songs 🙂 

I’m beginning to think that not all Youth led worship services require the most boisterous and wild and crazy songs there are. I’m finding we have as much, probably more, on the mid to low tempo songs. I think it’s because we’re in the adult sanctuary and it kind of gobbles us up and it just seems silly to go bananas in there…or I just don’t have alot of wild and crazy students…but I find that hard to believe. 

The special songs of the night were the last 3. 
It was our first time playing Crowder’s Never Let Go but after I intro-ed it, I heard a student go, “HEY! They play this song on KLove!” It was pretty funny. This is a special song for me and most of us here. I heard Crowder wrote this in response to Hurricane Katrina. Well that’s a subject near and dear to our hearts here in Louisiana and I’ve been dying to play this tune. I gave it the feel off the live Remedy Club Tour CD, but picked it on the guitar rather than on the piano.

I’m SO GLAD I don’t play Marvelous Light for the adults and that I do have some semblance of crazy students. They love ‘lifting their hands and spinning around!’ It’s my most favorite thing to do! However, note to anyone leading this song on guitar and spinning around in the process: ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS pay attention to where your guitar cable is. Otherwise you come dangerously close to ripping your guitar off your shoulder or wrenching the cable right out of the guitar 🙂  

How He Loves…So much to say about this song that I’m leaving it for another post. It’s beautiful, it fit my ‘hurricane theme’ for the night! HAHAHA. And the students responded. I blew out my voice on “When I think about the waaaaay!” going into the last Chorus but I did NOT CARE! It was crazy awesome. 

I absolutely love doing worship with students. It’s much more raw and it’s so cool to see students trying to figure out how to worship! However, I did realize that I need to approach this with as much diligence as our morning adult services. We’re doing some pretty complicated stuff and I’ve taken for granted the quality of musicianship from my few “adult” musicians that step in. My goal has been a way to engage the students IN and WITH worship. And I’m resting on the crutches of some of the adults for the sake of busyness and laziness on my part. I need to remedy that for next time. 

How was yours? 

Fred’s carnival is already underway! Get involved!

10 Responses to “Sunday Setlist Nov. 16th – Youth Style!”


  1. November 17, 2008 at 7:51 am

    Good work.

    Our youth did a reflective worship in the round all acoustic for 3 weeks of the current series. They went nutzo over it and it was very bridging to God.

    I also had a friend who years ago brought me in for each Hebrew feast to do a Christ centered worship service based on the historic tradition (feast of tabernacles, passover, etc.) They went bonkers on that as well. WL’s let’s give our students some credit and some depth.

  2. November 17, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Wow, that’s cool. I love those Crowder songs. I saw him Saturday night. I was disappointed they didn’t do “We Won’t Be Quiet” this time.

    Did you use megaphones? That’s wake ’em up on a Sunday morning.

  3. November 17, 2008 at 10:52 am

    We’ve done a few of those songs during our practices.

    There is something great about blasting the roof off when you play! But at the same time, the minimalistic feel can also be amazing. Reminds me of BB King (I think) who said he never plays the same song the same way as it all depends on his mood.

  4. November 17, 2008 at 11:48 am

    I had the opportunity to do “special music” before the message, and I brought some of our youth worship to the building!

    Consume Me
    Sweet Spirit
    Doxology
    Rescue

    Uh . . . God did show up, and he refused to wear and LSU hat! LOL!

  5. November 17, 2008 at 11:50 am

    OH! Planet Shakers at Bethany South Thursday night at 7 PM! – Oh wait . . . you will be at practice . . . I’ll call you during the worship and rub it in! LOL! Hey we need to schedule next practice for Ashah! The DNow gig IS a paying gig by the way!
    Jdog

  6. November 17, 2008 at 1:47 pm

    @Jordan I love that idea. That’s possible at our place and honestly easier than what I’m doing now. I’ll have to try that out!

    @Mike wow that’s odd, when we saw them them had 3 or 4! I’ve been wanting to try it out like that! I recently found someone in our church who has one so it’ll happen next time!

    @Jason no dude Post Secret is at the LSU Union this Thursday night and I want to go to it! I’ve heard of Planetshakers but not familiar enough with them.

  7. November 17, 2008 at 2:56 pm

    thats awesome that your youth worship team got to lead. great experience for them. leading worship for adults is completely different than students. i do both everyweek and i have to be mentally, spiritually, and emotionally prepared for each service differently.

    both groups of worshipers love God, but they like their God presented to them in different packages.

  8. November 18, 2008 at 9:35 am

    Tru dat on the Marvelous Light spin around comment. I’ve learned (the hard way) to hold my guitar slightly out from the body and pivot to keep on foot safely on the floor. Make sure before the song you have enough slack and turn toward your cord (to the right for me). 🙂

    This weekend is a (cold) camp weekend for our youth and another youth group that we do together every winter. The music is crazy and loud. I can’t wait.

  9. November 18, 2008 at 5:57 pm

    “How He loves” is an amazing song! We have thought about doing it in our youth service but we were very unsure about how the students would respond to the sloppy wet kiss part. Is their a lot of giggling going on during that part?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


