04
Dec
08

Posting quality video help!

How are you posting videos to your blogs? 

YouTube? Vimeo? Picasa? Other? 

I typically use youTube because iMovie automatically will export it for me. However, the quality I get is horrific. So what’s the best way to post some videos here that you’re using that don’t suck the life out of them?!?!

12 Responses to “Posting quality video help!”


  1. 1 Alastair Vance
    December 4, 2008 at 12:41 pm

    I’ve heard folk say Vimeo has better quality. In my experience, it’s a little slower than YouTube.

    YouTube can be good. I think the trick is uploading in the correct resolution to begin with. I’m still experimenting. When I play my videos in High Quality on YouTube they’re great, but it defaults to normal quality which is a bit pants.

  2. December 4, 2008 at 12:47 pm

    Lately, with Youtube going to a widescreen format, I have found that I am getting really good results with the new format. Go check out the Charlie Hall video on brokenpsalm51.org. Albeit it is smaller to fit in the right column, when you shrink the size, the pixels get tighter, but if the original file uploaded by the original creator, which is then compressed even more by youtube or whatever site, is not of a decent quality, you will have no control over the quality. From my understanding, there’s not much you can do about it beyond that.

  3. December 4, 2008 at 12:52 pm

    i personally love vimeo..it is a little slower, but that seems to have gotten better recently

  4. December 4, 2008 at 12:59 pm

    Vimeo is good if you are in the US, as you can pay for their HD option.

    YouTube just went widescreen and have a high-quality option, which I wrote about yesterday.

    You may also like blip.tv or my personal favourite Viddler. Viddler is really nice and allows you to add annotations. blip.tv offers HD as well I think, which Viddler currently does not.

    Check out my post, where I talked about my iMovie 08 workflow.

  5. December 4, 2008 at 1:00 pm

    Also worth noting that Viddler is easy to embed into a WordPress.com blog – not sure about Vimeo.

  6. December 4, 2008 at 1:41 pm

    Yeah Andy, I’m not able to embed Vimeo so I might try Viddler.

    This is good stuff. I was hoping that it was just a feature or option I wasn’t using in YouTube but it seems that we’re finding other solutions around youTube for quality’s sake. B/C I posted a video to YouTube’s new widescreen option and it still sucks 😦

  7. 7 Dirk
    December 4, 2008 at 3:41 pm

    So far I’m not a big fan of youtube, so I like Vimeo better. Especially the player, it looks really nice.

    And you can embed Vimeo videos in your posts, just make sure you change it to your video url:

  8. 8 Jonathan
    December 4, 2008 at 8:09 pm

    If younuae the YouTube option for the export from iMovie then you’ll get lesser quality videos. You will need to do a higher quality video export and then it ought to looks better on YouTube.

  9. December 5, 2008 at 2:11 am

    I’ve been pretty happy with vimeo lately…

  10. 10 brarrysobre
    April 24, 2009 at 12:34 am

    I’m the only one in this world. Can please someone join me in this life? Or maybe death…

  11. 11 plaggelve
    September 24, 2011 at 12:40 pm

    Man .. Beautiful .. Superb .. I will bookmark your site and take the feeds alsoI’m glad to search out numerous useful information here within the put up, we want work out more strategies on this regard, thanks for sharing. . . . . .


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


