12
Dec
08

I Need More Laughs Apparently

tbs.com just counted down their Top 10 List of the Funniest Movies of 2008 and depressingly, I haven’t seen a one of them and I don’t find Frank Caliendo funny (he hosted the countdown!) So toss in your $.02 because it looks like I’m about to start abusing my Blockbuster Online access. Tell me which ones you thought were funniest: 

10. You Don’t Mess With the Zohan
9. Burn after reading
8. Kung-fu Panda
7. Step Brothers
6. Get Smart
5. Baby Mama
4. Beverly Hills Chi…don’t bother, I will NOT be seeing this one!
3. Pineapple Express
2. Tropic Thunder
1. Forgetting Sarah Marshall

Agree or disagree? 
10 Responses to “I Need More Laughs Apparently”


  1. December 13, 2008 at 7:45 am

    Wow.. I only saw one of those, and didn’t find it funny. I guess you and I are in the same boat! (Although Caliendo’s Madden is hysterical.)

    Of course, I’m apparently one of the .000002% of the population that didn’t find Nacho Libre funny.

  2. December 13, 2008 at 7:52 am

    Kung Fu Panda is the only one that I saw. I liked it.

    I don’t like Caliendo either, and I couldn’t even finish Nacho Libre. I want to see Burn After Reading, but only because I’m a Coen Brothers devotee.

  3. December 13, 2008 at 8:46 am

    Don’t mess with the Zohan was way to 12 yr old boy humor for me, but it was funny.

    Bolt 3d is actually very funny.

    I want to see Step Brothers and Tropic Thunder but haven’t yet.

    And Phillip and Mike, I feel so sorry for you! Nacho Libre is watched and quoted in my house more then I can even count. GREAT movie!!

  4. December 13, 2008 at 8:54 am

    yeah, i saw get smart and thought it was so-so.
    frank was good early on in his carreer, but his show sucks.
    tbs- almost funny.

  5. December 13, 2008 at 12:25 pm

    Only saw one. And I rented it.

  6. December 13, 2008 at 10:30 pm

    I agree Carole, Nacho was hilarious!

    Paul, care to tell us which one 🙂

  7. 7 Jen
    December 13, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Just watched Don’t Mess With The Zohan last night. It had a few really funny moments. I was glad I watched it before my kids. It’s rated PG-13 but there is NO WAY my 13 year old is watching that! My husband told me, “Now THAT’S a good movie.” (I blogged a while ago on my MySpace page about how every time we watch a movie I ask him afterwards how he liked it and he always says, “eh, that was okay.” Finally I found his taste.)

    Step Brothers was kind of ridiculous. I laughed a few times, but it was not one of the funniest movies of the year. No way.

    Get Smart was okay. Not one of the best of the year, though. Steve Carrell is funnier on The Office.

    Baby Mama was really funny. I think it’s either the kind of humor you like or don’t like though, not really a middle ground.

    Forgetting Sarah Marshall was good. Probably not one of the funniest of the year, but it was a good movie.

    Never saw Nacho Libre, so no comments there.

  8. December 15, 2008 at 7:49 am

    10. You Don’t Mess With the Zohan – Crap.
    9. Burn after reading – Can’t wait to see this
    8. Kung-fu Panda – Great movie.
    7. Step Brothers – Has some laughs, but too much potty mouth.
    6. Get Smart – Eh.
    5. Baby Mama – Not on my radar.
    4. Beverly Hills Chi – Not gonna do it.
    3. Pineapple Express – In my que, but still up in the air.
    2. Tropic Thunder – Surprisingly great fun. Lots of F bombs though.
    1. Forgetting Sarah Marshall – Will see this soon.

  9. December 15, 2008 at 9:06 am

    not seen a one either…

    and i don’t like caliendo either.

    and never seen nacho libre.

  10. 10 scooter
    December 16, 2008 at 8:11 am

    9. Burn after reading – EXCELLENT! Surprised at how great.

    7. Step Brothers – uh. watched 30 minutes and turned off. May have been better if I were a 14 year old boy which is exactly how the “step-brothers” act. (which was suppose to be the point i know but it did not translate well in my opinion. even worst than Semi Pro)

    I hear Baby Mama is really funny and I want to see it. Don’t really want to see any of the others listed.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


