22
Dec
08

Sunday Setlist Dec. 21 – Youth Christmas!

Last night was our Youth Christmas Worship Service. I am so overwhelmed by what happened even though nothing went as I had planned. I suppose I should say “Thank You God!” Haha.

Originally, I had planned on have a full on band, extravagant drums, crazy songs, just bonkers! Instead we did an “in the round-esque” acoustic style that was tremendous!

  • Here is Our King – David Crowder Band – G
  • Marvelous Light – Charlie Hall – A
  • Mighty to Save – Hillsong – D? The recording’s key
  • Glory in the Highest – Chris Tomlin – G

We started the night off with some Santa jokes and then I dovetailed into what we were truly celebrating, talking a bit about Advent and Christmas to set up Here is Our King.

Marvelous Light is just a tremendously fun song with our group and I really like playing it. There’s nothing better than jumping up around in circles with a guitar on! Plus, I broke up the verses with a student vocalist which was awesome!

Mighty to Save is another favorite and again I had 2 of my students sing the verses which was beautiful! These girls are awesome and one’s a sophomore and one’s a senior! Watch out.

At this point I noticed that I had, oddly enough, gathered a bunch of songs that all referenced God as ‘light’ in one way or another. So, I popped out with an impromptu devotional that Donald Miller used a reference in a talk of his about how mysterious and unfathomable God is and how we often have a hard time reconciling that with someone who wants to have a relationship with us. However, I don’t understand hardly anything about light and it’s make up and how it functions and yet I interact with it and depend on it daily. So, I’m comforted by the knowledge that God is like light: something bigger than I can understand yet something/someone I deal with on a daily basis. (That’s the Reader’s Digest version.)

Going into Glory in the Highest was just comical because Tomlin carried this theme as well 🙂 and seriously, I couldn’t stop laughing. It’s such a powerful song though, and a great Christmas song! The band actually voted for that one too which was cool.

So a great night!

  • Jason was the only other “adult” and he played a SLEW of percussion! He sat on a cabon? cajon? cahon? had a djembe, congas (the big ones, or are those bongas?) shakers, and some other doo dads 🙂
  • Billy played bass.
  • John Ryan played electric which worked out cool! We had worked on some cool electric parts and doing the “unplugged” vibe concerned me but I set the Blues Jr. on a much more clean setting and my “unplugged” is probably more rambunctious than normal unplugged so it worked really well!
  • Stephanie and Rachel sang beautifully!
  • Melissa ran ProPresenter.
  • Kirby (whoops another adult) ran sound.

Thank you all because this was Christmas for me! We’re going to have 3 more Christmas services but I think this one will be the one for me this year. I just loved it and think that God was pleased as well!

Glad to be a part of Sunday Setlists again!

5 Responses to “Sunday Setlist Dec. 21 – Youth Christmas!”


  1. 1 Rae
    December 22, 2008 at 12:22 pm

    I can’t believe you forgot your own daughter dancing to it all!!! : ) As well as dancing with the guitar stand. That was hilarious!

  2. December 22, 2008 at 1:57 pm

    Awesome setlist! Did you sing Here is our King by David Crowder band? I love that song

  3. December 22, 2008 at 3:54 pm

    Love your song choices. It’s awesome how your theme fell into place!

  4. December 22, 2008 at 4:21 pm

    Babe that’s going to be a post all in itself 🙂

    @Johnny sorry man, I meant to put that info up. Yes I did and yes I love it too!

    @Steff thanks! Sometimes God works throughout our planning!

  5. August 24, 2010 at 11:27 am

    Nice post, I add blog to my RSS.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


