28
Dec
08

Sunday Setlist Dec. 28th – My Pastoral Observation Day

So I wasn’t leading worship today but Fred’s down for some observational Sunday Setlists over at his Sunday Setlists Blog Carnival so here we go: 

Today, I wore the Preacher hat and my great friends Matt and Alyssa led worship. It was wildly awkward and intense at the same time. It was pretty cool though being the guy working with the worship leader instead of being the worship leader working with ‘the guy.’ Haha! 
So after sharing with Matt and Alyssa what I was going to be speaking on, they developed a killer set of songs:

  1.  Wholly Yours – Crowder 
  2. All Creatures of Our God & King (2) – Crowder 
  3. You’re Beautiful – Phil Wickham 
  4. Amazing Love (You are My King)
  5. OffertoryTrue Love – Phil Wickham
  6. Post communion/sermonAmazing Grace (My Chains are Gone)

Looking back on it now it’s pretty hilarious that from 6 of the songs: 2 are Wickham tunes and 2 are Crowder tunes but I couldn’t care less, it was so great having a collection of songs like this. Our new worship leader’s got a great talent for her style of songs but this is so much more up my alley. It was a great morning! 

I absolutely love True Love and it was so great that Matt and I both thought that it would be a great fit. Matt was anticipating doing it solo similar to the Singalong version but the band was able to fill in and gave it this great acoustic vibe that was somewhere between Singalong and the Cannons version! A highlight of the morning. 

If there could be a criticism of the morning worship, it’s that we had too many ‘worship’ songs! HA. Structurally, All Creatures, You’re Beautiful, and Amazing Love are all very similar. The songs makes its way through and ends to then go into a pseudo build tag.
For All Creatures it’s the swelling Oh, Alleluias
For You’re Beautiful it’s the I see you’re face.
And for Amazing Love it’s the You are my king.  

So looking back at that grouping, a change in the endings or order or even song selection itself might have worked better, however, I’m curious if anyone in the congregation even noticed that at all? Regardless, it made for a wonderfully worshipful experience. 

And your Sunday?

3 Responses to “Sunday Setlist Dec. 28th – My Pastoral Observation Day”


  1. 2 J
    December 28, 2008 at 10:04 pm

    I see I’m not the only worship leader who dropped the Christmas songs like a bad habit a week later.

  2. December 29, 2008 at 12:39 pm

    What’s great about doing multiple songs by one artist or composer is that it seems to help with the flow. (or at least, it does for me!) It’s like they are thoughts coming out of the same heart, and so they flow together.

    And if you’re going to do that, Crowder and Wickham are great choices. (BTW, I saw Phil open for Crowder at a show in NYC a year ago. They go very good together! )


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


