06
Jan
09

My Top 10 CDs of 2008

I find this a fun way to look back at the year of music that I’ve collected. (For kicks and giggles compare this list to last year’s!) Here’s my favorite CDs that were released in 2008: 

10. Soundtracks! – Officially, shouldn’t be on the list here but soundtracks these days have become so much more than what they used to be! So I listed them last. These 3 are in steady rotation! 

Twilight SoundtrackJuno SoundtrackOnce Soundtrack
Twilight
– Hate all you want. Crime upon crimes, I still haven’t seen the movie and I LOVE this compilation! 
Juno – Quirky, absurd, bizarre, unpolished, just like the movie! 
Once – Seriously, you already have this one right? I don’t need to say anything more. 

9. Live Music! – Again, officially shouldn’t be here so they’re last as well.

SingalongWhere the light is
Phil WickhamSingalong –  I knew this guy was special when he captivated my attention sandwiched between The Myriad and The David Crowder Band at the House of Blues! His studio work is full and rich and textured and yet here stripped down to nothing more than his guitar, his voice, and the voices of those gathered for an incredible night of worship, this captures the talent and heart of Phil Wickham. It’s disgusting that you get it for free from his website! 
John Mayer Where the light is  I KNOW, not officially a CD of 2008 because they’re all previously recorded songs from past CDs but you tell me an artist out there that can showcase his talent at 1 live show in 3 different settings like this and bring so much passion and energy and raw talent and I’ll take it off. Nab the DVD with it and sweet Jesus. It just doesn’t stop! It probably should be #1 on here!

8. Local Music! – More than shameless plugs, two bands on the bubble!  
ASNSimages1
A Soup Named StewNumber 2 – David and Company have perfected the art of Comedic Rock and packaged it in a top notch way that trumps the kind of attention “local bands” are giving to the good old CD packaging. If anything, Number 2 gives you more than you need sink your teeth into ASNS. 
Lindsay Rae SpurlockHeart On A simple EP that packs a mean punch, well honestly there’s nothing mean at all to Lindsay but this EP sweeps from poppy finger-snapping to soft tenderness. 6 songs barely scratches the surface to well of music coming from this girl!

7. Pocketful of sunshineNatasha BedingfieldPocket Full of Sunshine I mean seriously, you’d think the girl had 2, maybe 3 CDs drop this year but nope, it’s all been on the same one. And for somebody that’s seen her live, the girl’s legit! Pipes, moves, charisma. Bring it on, I don’t care, probably my secret favorite of the year.
6. Day and AgeThe Killers – Day and Age – I’ll preface this by saying, ‘Yes, I loved Sam’s Town too!’ Day and Age finds The Killers doing what they do best again. Creating something different. Boisterous, over the top, metaphorical, danceable, rockin’, tribal, jazz, Gloria Estefanish, spacey…BRING IT ON! 

5. Your Kingdom ComeMatt PapaYour Kingdom Come Hands down the best worship and/or rock CD you don’t own! This follow up to You Are Good boasts a fluid 18 track monument mixed with the writings of Derek Webb/Charlie Hall and a variety of mad skills on the piano and guitar and vocals that breeds a breadth of variety in his music that’s absolutely stellar!

4. RedWeezerRed – I’m laughing with the thought of this even being on this list but that’s how good it was. Superbly tongue-and-cheek as is Weezer but done amazingly well. Guitar tones thick and rich. And in the midst of themselves a quant, beautiful little diddy called Heart Songs gets me misty every time! 

3. The Bright SadnessCharlie Hall – The Bright Sadness – What a project! What a worship experience! What a musical delivery! I’ve always loved Charlie’s heart and his style of writing. I never thought he got enough props for his earlier releases. Flying into Daybreak got them some attention and The Bright Sadness is a masterpiece of a followup combining the new sound they’re embracing with authentic Charlie Hall!

2. Narrow StairsDeath Cab for CutieNarrow Stairs I’ve been an on the fence fan of Death Cab and Postal Service and Nada Surf and such for years now but for some reason this one pushed me over the edge! It’s on my iPhone and on CD in my truck! 

1. Viva La VidaColdplay – Viva la Vida (Prospekt’s March Edition) – Love ’em or hate ’em I don’t know if there was a harder working band in the business this year than Coldplay and their assault with Death and all his friends! Viva la Vida just doesn’t get old for me. Eno did enough to make it sparkle and shine from X&Y and the fluid nature of this project was a nice touch. The wait was worth it!

 

So there you have it. I might have got it wrong so I made sure to give you more than 10 🙂 
I initially thought this year was a poor year for music but after looking at this list, I’m not so sure anymore. This was much harder to compile and sort out than last years!

While you’re at it, check out what my blogging brother had to say about 2008!

11 Responses to “My Top 10 CDs of 2008”


  1. January 6, 2009 at 11:06 am

    good picks! I’ve missed your blog posts. this is some of the stuff I like coming over for… I’ll have to check out Matt Papa – never heard of it b4.

  2. January 6, 2009 at 11:26 am

    I want the Twilight soundtrack for sure. Haven’t heard “Once” but everyone says it’s great. LOVE LOVE LOVE John Mayer.

  3. January 6, 2009 at 11:30 am

    Sorry Shawn, I’ve been a bit behind with actual content with the holidays and youth and church and such.

    Carole, the Twilight is surprisingly great! Mutemath, Paramour, Linkin Park, Muse, and Claire de Lune is absolutely sedating 🙂

  4. January 6, 2009 at 1:57 pm

    Ah…nice list…

    the once soundtrack is awesome..

    matt papa..didnt know he had a new one out..I have all his other stuff. the guy is way underrated.

  5. January 6, 2009 at 2:35 pm

    Good list. I would put Nick and Norah’s infinite playlist soundtrack in the soundtrack categroy too.

  6. January 7, 2009 at 9:04 am

    heh

    A Soup Named Stew sucks.

    davidloti=davidloti

  7. January 9, 2009 at 9:18 am

    Dude, I agree with you except on two points:

    The Killers annoy me for some reason.

    And I REALLY REALLY REALLY tried to embrace the bright sadness. I listened to it on speakers, headphoned, and headphoned + lyrics. Still no bueno. At least for me.

    I also think you totally forgot what I think is one of the top 2-3 CD’s of the year – Fireflight’s Unbreakable CD. Awesomeness.

  8. January 9, 2009 at 9:54 am

    Mike – I’ve heard that! I need to check it out.

    The self loathing wickedly talented David Loti everybody!!!

    Pkillur – wow man, I’ve been annoyed that The Killers can reinvent themselves so incredibly each time around 🙂 but that’s about it. Fireflight?…hmmm….Fireflight….oh yeah that group that tried to sound like Flyleaf! Hahaha. No, I have Fireflight’s CD and the chick has pipes but yeah, I liked Flyleaf first and I think musically they had set the standard, and it has yet to be surpassed.

  9. January 9, 2009 at 6:14 pm

    Great list, bro. Once, Death Cab, Killers, Mayer, and Coldplay? Seriously good taste!

  10. 10 Kim norwood
    July 9, 2009 at 3:33 pm

    My Weezer made it!!!! And isn’t Jimmy eat world wonderful too? I still listen to “clarity” a lot. Thanks for all the good info. i needed some new music ideas


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


