15
Jan
09

Experiencing the Court System

Some things in life you’d wish you really rather hadn’t experienced them, and yet they’ve changed you in such a way that in some sick, bizarre way you’re made better because of it. One such experience has been witnessing the court system and judiciary process for the state of Louisiana over these past few years. It hasn’t popped up here on this blog for…well several reasons really. It’s terribly personal, awkward, and not particularly a fun subject.

However, I believe that I’ve finally come to a position where I can find teachable moments within the situation and discuss it in a way that might be beneficial to others. After all, “there’s one in ever family” right!
So starting this week, I’m going to start a little series to discuss what it’s like to have a family member who’s made a mistake and now is going through the court system to find justice and appropriate punishment. It’s not an easy discussion and not one that I’m desiring pity or attention for but what I’ve found incredibly helpful for lately is God working through the community I’m involved in and our discussions and prayers together. I wish I’d been more vulnerable earlier. I hope that this serves as a transparent and helpful insight into us getting to know one another better. 

To be continued…

2 Responses to “Experiencing the Court System”


  1. 1 Amanda
    January 15, 2009 at 9:13 am

    Will be prayering for you and your family. I went through some crazy stuff with my dad. Not fun.

  2. January 15, 2009 at 9:33 am

    My friend you made a statement that I think is one of the most important things that we as believers, followers, and active participants in being in a relationship with Christ, can do –
    Find the teachable moments in all situations. Christ was all about teachable moments. When He confronted Peter by saying . . . SIMON! Satan wanted to mess you up, but I thwarted Him, dude . . . that is me! Christ’s ministry in the short 33 years on this rock was all about the teachable moments. The cool thing is that He was awesome enough, to leave us how to handle those teachable moments that we experience today! Dude, I love ya!, (in a guy sort of way! HA!), and I appreciate all the listening you have done to my ranting and diatribes on the phone! You are a blessing and in Christ you are transparent in your walk! Man . . . think how awesome the vulnerability and all the stuff you are experiencing right now would help you in ministry . . . so . . . how was the sex talk?! LOL!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


