16
Jan
09

I wish I prayed at 3

Something incredible is happening in our family! It started months ago when we began holding hands with our 3 year old at the dinner table and saying a prayer together. It began very simple and perhaps very familiar: 

God is great. God is good. Let us thank Him for our food. Ah-men.

Chloe even was able to say it herself. She led our dinnertime prayer at 3! Then something happened: 

Thank you Jesus for my day, for my friends, and my family. Ah-men.

WHAT? Incredible. Amazing (food not blessed but that’s a technicality really.) 
AND THEN something insane happened! After getting leveled at Youth, I came home and told Chloe that Daddy hurt his back and butt! A while later I laid down and groaned out loud and heard this:

Daddy, I’m going to pray for you.

Haha, that was cute, I thought and then:

Dear Jesus, thank you for my Daddy. Thank you for his back and his butt. Ah-men. 

There are times when no matter how much of a man you are, things like this happen and you’re brought to your knees and the room gets a little misty 🙂 

Tonight, Rae was laid out on the sofa with a horrible migraine and again spontaneously: 

Mommy, I’m going to pray for you….Dear Jesus, thank you for my Mommy’s head. Ah-men.

Several things have been happening. I mean, Chloe goes to a Christian daycare and I know they do things there. Sundays are Daddy Days, Chloe comes with me to church early and stays for both services and then leaves late with me.

Then last Sunday we passed a wreck on the road. She already knows that when she sees lights on a vehicle that ‘somebody’s in trouble!‘ As we passed this wreck she asked what happened and I simply told her that some people got in trouble because their cars hit each other and they might be hurt, which is why we always buckle. That little voice (I call the Holy Spirit) tickled my ear and I asked Chloe for us to pray for them.
Why? she said.
Because they’re hurting.
OK. It’s endearing how simple children are 🙂

Dear Jesus, please be with those people hurting who got in a wreck. Thank you. Amen.

Roll all that together and I suppose you get  a praying 3 year old! It’s the most amazing thing to witness as a parent. Thank you Lord! I try not to get overly excited but my daughter’s going to conquer the world! Hahaha. At least, she’ll always have her Daddy’s heart!

2 Responses to “I wish I prayed at 3”


  1. 1 Jonathan
    January 17, 2009 at 7:02 am

    That is awesome! As a Dad, this isone thing I hope and pray that my daughters will do.

  2. January 17, 2009 at 10:21 am

    hey man.

    glad you’re an animal lover, too.

    Great story.. hope our children are praying like that when they’re 3. powerful reminder about how we should pray, too. “except you become as little children….”

    thanks for the heads up about 116 clique and flame. will look into it asap.

    Really enjoyed meeting you. Am pumped, too, about RTR, and am pumped that you’re pumped!

    GREAT BLOG!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


