09
Feb
09

Sunday Setlist Feb. 8th – A Good Blend

We’ve been rolling around between the RUF/Indelible Grace material that the new worship leader brought when she came on staff last year and the Passion/”Rockin'” (term I hate) stuff that I brought on a few years back. Typically the service is more of an either/or of the styles but this Sunday brought the 2 together pretty well. 

Prelude– My Hope is You
Songs of Praise:  
Everlasting God – Brenton Brown – G
You’re Worthy of My Praise (I Will Worship) – E
All the Way my Savior Leads Me – Chris Tomlin – C
My Hope is You – Third Day – E 

P&G
Announcements
Offering– Whatever My God Ordains is Right – C
Sermon
Communion
Closing song
:
O Love that Will Not Let Me Go – G 

Even though Everlasting God and My Hope is You are the only 2 songs I’ve ever done here, the whole morning had a good groove in place that felt pretty unified. Stylistically, the sound swayed more to the contemporary feel acoustic/electric led. However, they cut the guitar solo from My Hope is You and I deflated a little bit 😦
There were droplets of mandolin and the Offering song was led on the piano. That gave a good variety of sound! The one thing that I did notice mixing the 2 styles of songs was that the language stood out more. Every ‘thee & thou’ and ‘-ith & -est’ stood out like a smack on the thumb next to the common language of the other songs. 

I would have sworn that All the Way My Savior Leads Me wasn’t a Tomlin tune but it is! I suppose I need to give Hello Love another listen! Haha. It didn’t do much for me Sunday musically but what I noticed was that the worship leader was worshipping during that song! That was incredible! Seeing that, got me off my thoughts of what the song sounded like and into what the song was saying and encouraged personal worship! 

Another great addition to Fred’s blog carnival of Sunday Setlists!

2 Responses to “Sunday Setlist Feb. 8th – A Good Blend”


  1. 1 suemiley
    February 9, 2009 at 4:02 pm

    I agree with you, the band is coming together in unity, and worship is showing through. Last weekend (the 1st) was even better and it prompted me to send a note in of encouragement. I even complimented a Third Day song that was played at the women’s retreat along with the Indescribable song and Mighty to Save. (It was great.)

    If you haven’t heard Alec’s sermon from last week you should listen to the CD. It reminded me that if we are showing people sincere love of Jesus, that will overshadow everything else.

    I think that is what we are starting to see in worship.

  2. February 9, 2009 at 10:38 pm

    Now if I can just find out why all the guitar solos/bridges were taken out 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


