15
Feb
09

Sunday Setlist Feb. 15th – dBs & Bless the Lord Reviewed

I think the answer to the appropriate dB level that should be played in church is kept under lock and key with the secrets to Area 51, the truth about Bigfoot, the identity of and if there was a third gunman, and why if Lifetime is the channel for women there’s always a woman getting beaten on that network! 

After several years of advising and begging we’ve gone ahead with hiring a sound tech. While I could hear the intricacies of the music and while it sounded good! I didn’t find it loud enough 😦 He did some tweaks to the low end and it was a good mix with some actual bass this Sunday but it felt like I was distant from the vocals. I asked what we were running and it was just above 90 dBs, which makes sense because I used to ask the techs to average 95. Funny what 5 dBs do for you 🙂 

They sang:

  •  I Sing the Mighty Power of God – E
  • ‘Tis so Sweet to Trust in Jesus – D
  • Bless the Lord – Laura Story – E
  • We Will Dance – David Ruis – D
  • Offering I Surrender All – Traditional – A
  • CloserBlessed Be Your Name – Matt Redman – G

The 1st 2 songs were done identically which made for what seemed like 1 long song. It was nice to do a new song that is a new song. Laura Story wrote the song Indescribable that Chris Tomlin put on Sunday mornings at churches nearly everywhere. I’m a bit put off by Ms. Story. I’m a big hater of the churning going on in Christian music and we find Mighty to Save here on Story’s breakout CD. So I was already a little hesitant. 

Bless the Lord however isn’t too bad. On the surface lyrically it sounds very Blessed Be Your Name-ish however it’s more of a calling to praise God as He refines the worshipper and a remembering who God is. Melody wise it’s very rolling from part to part but the phrasing is interesting and has some peculiar pauses. Musically it’s pretty constant. Once it gets rolling it pushes all the way through pausing slightly after the bridge for a few bars to pick back up where it left off. It’d be good to have some more dynamics with the song and it’d be easy for the worship leader to do so given the song’s elements. 

The plus side is knowing what you’re working with. Bless the Lord seems to fit well with our new worship leader and style and could compliment the talent of the band. Doing songs like this that are recent releases could be good additions to the church’s repertoire.

It’s good to be a part of Fred’s Sunday Setlists Blog Carnival as it turns the big 30! I will too in June 😦

5 Responses to “Sunday Setlist Feb. 15th – dBs & Bless the Lord Reviewed”


  1. February 16, 2009 at 8:53 am

    Man, I’d love to hire a tech to come in.

    We do ok for what we’ve got, but man…oh man.

    Great set!

    Thanks for sharing.

  2. February 16, 2009 at 9:04 am

    Conor – Jeff told me about your blog a while back and I’m just now checking it out (thx to your twitter updates). Very nice! Can I ask what “the churning going on in Christian music” means? I’m not a musical person (I love music, I just have ZERO musical talent), so forgive my ignorance.

  3. 3 Rae
    February 16, 2009 at 9:53 am

    The music was boring. End of story. I am wanting so much more. Sorry to be so blunt!

  4. February 16, 2009 at 10:06 am

    Sure Ashley that might even be a post all and of itself but the quick answer is an example:
    Brenton Brown writes and releases Everlasting God on March of 2006.
    Chris Tomlin covers it and releases it on Sept. 2006.
    Lincoln Brewster covers it and releases it on his BEST OF in Nov. 2006.

    Now, I actually like all three of those artists but that’s embarrassing. And that happens all the time!

    Hillsong releases an CD called Mighty to Save with one of the most popular songs of 2008 as the title track. The amount of people who have covered it are staggering. And Laura Story happens to be one of them. And what really riles me up is not that they just have it on their CD but that it’s released as a single.

    I blasted the “Tree” bands awhile back for their blatant covering: https://worshipcity.wordpress.com/2008/06/04/christian-music-leaves-medumbfounded/

  5. February 17, 2009 at 9:03 am

    Got it – I have noticed that I have heard the same songs over and over, not necessarily the same voices. Perhaps I shouldn’t admit this, but I’m not a big “Christain music” fan anymore – I wish I was, but I’m not. I wouldn’t have been able to articulate that “same song, differnt voice” trend, but you are def right (not that you needed me to point that out 🙂 ).


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


