22
Feb
09

Sunday Setlist Feb. 22nd – 3 Churches in 1!

sunday_setlist_red21

Not only do I bring you what they did at River today but I went to Ecclesia in Houston and Rae went to Trinity in Lafayette so I bring you the Sunday Setlists times 3!!! 

I’ll spend most of the time discussing Ecclesia since I was physically there and because it’s the one that resounds with me the most! But keep reading for the others as well. I’ll try to keep this strictly to the music so I won’t ramble too much 🙂 

1. @Ecclesia
The band make up was acoustic, electric, keys, bass and drums with a lead vocal. More than enough to get dangerous and just enough to be excellent! 

  • Prelude – Band played and sung song (I don’t know the name and we missed 1/2 of it)
  • Welcome and greeting – I LOVE the greeting at the beginning!!!
  • Here is Our King – Crowder – A
  • Come Ye Sinners – 6/8 time signature swingy feel
  • How He Loves – John Mark McMillan
  • Offering and Announcements
  • Special song – I See You (Amazing song that I’m trying to find!) 
  • Sermon
  • Band played and sung during communion
  • I think Tasting Forgiveness was slated to be played but b/c of time they must have scrapped it

When they struck up with Here is Our King out of the greeting, I immediately got giddy. It’s one of those songs that our church either loves or finds tricky to sing and therefore is discouraged to play so I only get to do it with the youth or out somewhere else. I was surprised to find that they kept it in the recording’s key. It was a bit high but man we belted it out 🙂 They followed pretty close to the live recordings version but added a double dose of Majesty at the end that was sweet!

What’s truly hilarious is that when I went back and found what they played last August when I was there, these next 2 songs were there! I remember it was the 1st time I’d heard How He Loves live and I remember thinking what a cool version of Come Ye Sinners! I was really surprised because I love Robbie Seay’s version and this being his church is completely different! 

Well Come Ye Sinners was again, refreshingly great and How He Loves has become the theme of our Youth Group lately! I played it last weekend at church, they played it at the retreat this weekend, and then we get it here at Ecclesia! For some reason though, this morning singing it out something special really happened. I’m not sure if it was all the exposure to it or what, they pulled it off better than the recording and really settled in it and we all just went for it! It sounded like everyone was singing out! 

I See You is a magnificent song so more on that when I can find it! 

What was really exciting was hearing the students’ reaction: they LOVED it! I purposefully wanted to go somewhere that would have been different from the retreat and they loved the worship, the sound, the songs, the whole thing. That was awesome! 

2. @River: 

  • Bless the Lord – Laura Story
  • Come Ye Sinners
  • Tender Mercy 
  • Amazing Grace/My Chains are Gone
  • Prayer and Greeting and Announcements and Offering
  • Sermon
  • Communion
  • Closing – Clean Hands

I don’t know if in fact this week we had electric or not. I’m sure we had mandolin and a couple back up vocals. This was the second week in a row doing Bless the Lord which is the latest new song introduced to the congregation. 

3. @Trinity: 

  • Forever – Tomlin
  • Hosanna – Baloche
  • In Christ Alone – Matt Papa
  • From the Inside Out – Hillsong United
  • Everlasting God – Brenton Brown

When Rae first gave me the song set, I was really giddy! What a selection of songs! 
Tomlin’s live version of Forever is nuts! Matt Papa’s In Christ Alone is the perfect contemporary/hymn song! From the Inside Out is easily one of my most favorite United tunes! Everlasting God is such a solid familiar song!

I got …eh…from Rae. Something was missing. Nothing popped, lack of energy, they all kind of ran together and sounded the same. were some of the things I got from her. This frustrates me because I know as a worship leader it’s frustrating to do songs that are so familiar and perhaps really familiar to the band and keep them fresh and creative. I think for Rae (because it’s true for me too) knowing those songs and loving them so much and hearing them not pulled off like you’re familiar to is distracting. 

Unfortunately, it sounds like she and I had opposite experiences this morning: I heard the intro riff to HIOK and got giddy excited and then lost in the music! She heard Forever and got interested and then deflated by the music. 

How was your Sunday? All a part of Fred’s carnival of Sunday Setlists! I LOVE the banner this week so I stole it 🙂 Unfortunately, Fred doesn’t know who we’re stealing it from so if it’s yours: THANK YOU! and speak up so I can give you some link love!

3 Responses to “Sunday Setlist Feb. 22nd – 3 Churches in 1!”


  1. February 23, 2009 at 1:11 pm

    Very nice sets list.
    Some of my favorite songs!

    I love Here Is our King- We sing it in G.
    Haven’t heard “Come Ye Sinners” but I am going to check it out
    How He Loves is insanely good.
    In Christ alone is one of my favorite songs ever.

  2. 2 Steffanie Oltmans
    February 23, 2009 at 4:55 pm

    I totally agree “From the inside out” is one of my favorite United songs! Great song :)!

  3. March 2, 2009 at 5:46 pm

    Dude, I totally went to Ecclesia that week! I was down for work the week after – it rocked!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


