25
Feb
09

Giving Up

Today is Ash Wednesday. Most people in Louisiana are rigorously hung over from Mardi Gras festivities that they’ve over indulged in for the past few days so they won’t be reading this post. You probably are if you don’t live anywhere near South Louisiana, or if your one of the students in private school who has the entire week off of school this week.Ā 

It’s customary to give something up for Lent. A vice of yours to surrender for the 40 days leading up to Easter is something commonly given up. I’m not Catholic but have participated in Lent before and am thinking I’ll do it again.

I think I might give up Coke again.

What about you?

6 Responses to “Giving Up”


  1. February 25, 2009 at 9:59 am

    I gave up giving up stuff for Lent.

    Seriously. I spent the first 33 years of my life as a Catholic, so I get it. But, my philosopy should be (and thats’ a big should) to crucify my flesh every day. While I do reflect more on the wonderful sacrifice Christ made on my behalf during the season of Lent, to me the notion of giving up something seems artificial.

    Maybe it’s just because it was artifical for me for all those years.

  2. February 25, 2009 at 10:07 am

    Along those lines – I believe that Lent originally (around the 4th century) was about studying (scripture) as preparation for the celebratory remembrance of Christ’s death and resurrection. I think that if giving something up leads you in that direction, then that’s great. But most importantly, it’s about focusing on Christ and on what he has done for us. So if I give up something, it sure better not cause me to focus more on myself, but rather point me to Jesus.

  3. February 25, 2009 at 10:23 am

    You should definitely stop doing coke. It’s really bad for your nasal cavity. And your brain, I think.

  4. February 25, 2009 at 11:29 am

    Sweets. This will be harder than it should be. Thought I was raised protestant, I’ve been giving up things for Lent for about five years or so (?). It’s been good to point me in the direction of remembering Christ’s sacrifice and leading me to prayer each time I think of indulging in what I’ve given up. I should be in a position of prayer and thankfulness every day around 3:00 and then again after dinner.

  5. February 25, 2009 at 4:30 pm

    @Mike your comment led to us having a great discussion at lunch today!

    @Jonathan I’m pretty sure Lent is about giving stuff up šŸ™‚ It is to focus on Christ but during Lent it’s during the sacrifice of the thing we’re abstaining from that we should be focusing in on Christ’s sacrifice. All leading up to a celebration of His resurrection on Easter.

    @Philip man, I’ve been thinking all day: “Wow, I bet Coke is bad for my nasal cavity, it’s been killing me lately!” then I reread your comment and felt really dumb šŸ™‚

    @Ashley I think you’ve got it! Right on. How did 3:00 go for you today?


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


