26
Feb
09

Getting LOST with The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham

LOST Season 5

Welcome to a Spoiler filled discussion of one of the best shows on TV: Lost. Join with me Thursdays to laugh, discuss, go HUH?, about all things puzzling and hilarious from the night before!

Season 5, Episode 7 – The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham

This week didn’t have any fun nicknames or witty banter just a ton of HOLY CRAP DID THAT JUST HAPPEN moments!! We do however have:

The Numbers: 4 8 15 16 23 43

  • Charles Widmore tells John that if he needs anything he can be reached on speed dial by hitting: 23
  • Helen’s death was on April 8th = 4 – 8 (also coincidentally the birth day of my son Gavin!)

Otherwise, I thought this was one of my favorite episodes of the season! Such fine acting takes place on this show! Ben Linus is one of my favorites because I never know if I should trust him or not (I think I know what to do after this episode though!) but he does such an incredible job going between dastardly creepy and amazingly sincere! Abaddon was back and I love that guy! Again, someone who I don’t know what to do with! And this episode the Oscar goes to John Locke! My goodness! What an episode! And he gets beaten just BEATEN emotionally! Bravo!

I don’t know a better way of discussion that giving you my internal monologue during the show:

Locke…alive…on the island? I now ask “When are they” instead of “where” 🙂

John Locke sure is looking alot like Christian Shepherd!

I have got to figure out the relationship between the Island and Tunisian desert!

Am I watching Fringe or Lost?

Holy crappers! Charles Widmore! AND he remembers Locke!

3 years!…oh yeah I knew they’d been off for 3 years but having Locke just pop up like that really makes my head hurt.

War coming?!?!?!

23!!!

ABBADON! I thought that was Reddick the agent of Homeland Security head of the Fringe division!

Sayid looks so happy and chill building houses doing good! I like this Sayid.

HOLY CRAPPERS!! WHAT!!! WALT!

Ben is the best actor on TV.

Watchmen! Midnight premiere! No doubt about it!

Hey, excuse me am I talking to a dude in the wheelchair right now? HA. I love Hurley.

This has got to be the best show on TV! My goodness, it’s dusty in here watching this scene with Locke and Kate!

Locke is the best actor on TV.

Helen Norwood died of brain anuerism – 6-30-57 to 4-8-06. I’ve got to go back and watch that episode.

HOLY CRAP!

Ben doesn’t know everything! Didn’t know Jin was alive!

DON’T TRUST HIM JOHN!!!

Maybe he should trust him?

HOLY CRAP!!! HE JUST KILLED HIIM!!!

HOLY CRAP! That’s the man who killed me!

HOLY CRAP COUNT = 5 this episode

What an impressive episode! The thing is that it makes me want to pull out my older seasons on DVD and rewatch everything before next week! We find out so much here about Ben and Widmore and Locke and what a tangled web they’ve weaved!

Best show on TV right now!

What’d you think?

7 Responses to “Getting LOST with The Life and Death of Jeremy Bentham”


  1. 1 Rae
    February 26, 2009 at 12:04 pm

    First of all, I can’t believe you watched it without me AND when you should be at work….working!!

    Second, I cannot BELIEVE you do not know our son’s birthday!! What a shame!!

    Rae

  2. February 26, 2009 at 12:08 pm

    1) You told me last night I could watch it w/o you.
    2) I was working while watching it
    3) I’m dumb. Gavin’s birthday is 4+4=8 which means he was born April 4th, 2008. My bad sweetie!

  3. February 26, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    4) You said you only read blogs in the morning and by tomorrow morning I’ll have watched with you 🙂

  4. February 26, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Hmm… Yes there were some interesting twist moments, but I thought the episode was a bit of a let-down. Not enough time on the island, I guess. The episode focused on tieing together loose ends, not on current action…

    The whole three-year thing made me wonder how long they had been back before Ben showed up in LA.

    I too had a HOLY CRAP moment when Ben killed John. I guess he just needed some information.

    And I missed the orderly guy connection. Probably because I was trying to decide if he was the guy off Fringe, or maybe the Haitian on Heroes…

  5. February 26, 2009 at 9:59 pm

    I agree, Lock’s acting was great! All season we’ve been trying to decide if Ben is good or bad, it’s not very LOST-like to be so strait-ahead that Ben kills someone and is a bad guy. Know what I mean? There will be a twist. My theory is Ben killed Lock, knowing he would come back to life on the island, to make sure whats-her-name (the lady Lock mentioned before ben killed him) doesn’t know he’s alive and returning to the island. Maybe?

  6. February 27, 2009 at 9:41 am

    Dude, I think LOST is my favorite TV show of all time. Love it and love to read your thoughts on it. So fun!

  7. February 28, 2009 at 1:25 pm

    Great review. It is the best show on TV and I totally love to hate Ben. He’s amazing.

    This episode frustrated me BAD!! I just can’t handle any more confusion, yet, I have to watch.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


