02
Mar
09

Your Moleskine of Choice

moleskine

I suck at organization. Period.

So, I try all kinds of kooky and crazy schemes to get things in place. My newest option is the timeless Moleskine. I’ve noticed it’s also the notepad of choice for you techies out there during your time away from your computer.

Mine’s the Orange binding that fits in my back pocket. Yup, fits in my pocket and goes with me everywhere now. PLUS it’s Orange! Hot dog! (…if you don’t have one the Orange binding comes off and they’re all the same color.)

Yours?

7 Responses to “Your Moleskine of Choice”


  1. March 2, 2009 at 7:09 am

    I’ve always loved the “idea” of these, but when it comes down to it, I need a moleskin to tell me where I left my moleskin.

    I’ve resorted to using a huge whiteboard in my office and writing to-do lists that way.

    As far as capturing ideas for the creative side, I typically just use the lappie. If I’m away from said laptop, I usually forget my ideas.

  2. March 2, 2009 at 9:42 am

    I usually use the small hardback with the grids. My current one, however, is the small hardback with blank pages. This happened by accident but I kinda like it!

  3. 3 Wendy
    March 2, 2009 at 11:59 am

    Hmm. I do NOT suck at organization. Maybe I need to offer to transfer my skills from Toddler 1’s for the new volunteer year. How different could it be: 1 year olds vs. Freshman?

  4. March 2, 2009 at 1:56 pm

    I’m usually a pocket size Squared notebook… right now thought I’m a 13x21cm RED lined journal… I journal every night in a One-Year Dairy. and I write all of my communications (for camps, sermons, etc.) in Lined or Squared Black Cahiers… (Yeah, I’m rather addicted to them.)

  5. March 2, 2009 at 4:44 pm

    Paper doesn’t run out of batteries.

    Is surprisingly resiliant to water and coffee (which has killed at least three of my blackberries – fortunately I’ve always been a Network Comms Engineer [aka the dude who hands out blackberries] – and “they’ve” never caught on) (and when I mean “they” I mean “the man” and not my boss. At all. Uhhh. Seriously…)

    And never tells you to reload java or give you a ‘PC-Load-Letter’ error…

    And in all honesty – having to actually write something down makes you remember it. I have been using the (more or less) same system for about 5 years – keep track in outlook (or in my current ‘condition’ Lotus Notes) and then print out my tasks each week. 5 days of notes and then I update my tasks on friday. Update tasks monday AM at like 10 and then meeting with boss monday afternoon to go over priorities.

    Beats meeting invites and conference calls and franklin covey software ANY day (because I’ve tried them all).

  6. 6 Alastair Vance
    March 2, 2009 at 6:29 pm

    I have a red one. It helps me write songs. Can’t explain it, but it just inspires me. 😉

  7. March 5, 2009 at 8:56 pm

    how’s it working for you?

    I have a system where I jot things down through out the day and then “process” my notepad by digitizing important information (phone numbers, todos, ect…) and tearing out used pages. I don’t tend to keep any info. in my notepad.

    I’ve been using paper for while, but just recently got the Moleskine. They’re pretty sweet.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


