15
Mar
09

Sunday Setlist March 15 – Variety Show

sunday_setlist_red21

I love the zoo. Various animals from various continents of various shapes and sizes all available for me to spend the afternoon walking around to view in 1 place. However, if they were physically all in the same space you might have some confusion, bewilderment, chaos, and the tigers would be devouring a small antelope in front of your 3 year old!

We had variety this week! Which for creativity’s sake was phenomenal! Although I remember every time I walked into the sanctuary I went “Whoosy whatsy?”

Prelude – Come Thou Fount
Announcments & Greeting
Creation’s King
Great is He Who’s the King of Kings
The Lord is Gracious and Compassionate
Come Thou Fount
Offering – Jesus, Lover of my Soul
Sermon
Communion – Bluegrass instrumental
Closing – Here I am to Worship

It wasn’t so much the music choice for this weekend that’s worth talking about so much as the variety that was so thought out to make this Sunday a very diverse one.

  1. The Choir – This week we had a mini-choir of about 5 ladies singing harmony with our Associate Pastor as the male part harmony. They were particularly showcased on Great is He… which was a new song however each part was taught to the congregation before the song began. It took some time but in the end it ‘worked.’ It’s not something I enjoyed b/c well I’m not too keen on choirs and then the time allotted to teach the song was a pretty big flow killer. That being said, it did get at least the guys and girls singing different parts. They were also showcased on the special for the Offering on Jesus, Lover of my Soul.
  2. Bluegrass – I’ve done a Bluegrass Sunday before and we’ve had acoustic Sundays with a more country folk sound but never just a good ole’ folksy bluegrassy tune smack dab in the middle of the service. It was particularly interesting for communion.
  3. Auxiliary instruments – Not only did we have an additional acoustic/electric guitar but we had a banjo and a saxophone. Therefore this week even the “normal” songs were not “normal” sounding songs. However it was Jesus, Lover of my Soul with the saxophone that was truly the addition of variety for the morning. Choir + Sax = !?!?!

I would have imagined my borderline ADD would have been all over this morning but something felt more confusing than pleasing. I recognize that’s just personal style preference. For marks on creativity and thinking outside the box: A for effort! I always wonder though how do you decide what’s appropriate or ‘what’s us?’ The human side of worship planning is so dang difficult!

But it is great to be a part of Fred’s Sunday Setlist Blog Carnival!

4 Responses to “Sunday Setlist March 15 – Variety Show”


  1. March 16, 2009 at 10:51 am

    My head pastor’s head would ‘asplode if we had a Bluegrass instrumental during the communion. That’s awesome! Hopefully it got a YeeHaw from the congregation 🙂

  2. March 16, 2009 at 3:42 pm

    Holy cow! Choir, bluegrass and aux instruments with that set??? I would have LOVED to hear it.

  3. March 17, 2009 at 6:50 am

    I love mixing it up. I’d love me some sax.
    Very cool set list.

  4. 4 Steffanie Oltmans
    March 17, 2009 at 3:52 pm

    Variety is a good thing 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


