29
Mar
09

Sunday Setlist March 29 – I’m baaaaaack

sunday_setlist_red21

Today was my first time back up front leading worship in a loooooong time. I know it’s the first time this year! And it was GREAT!

1st: The songs –

All to You – Lincoln Brewster – E
Wholly Yours – David Crowder*Band – G
I Will Not Forget You – ??? – G
Hosanna – Hillsong United – E

Offering – You’re Beautiful – Phil Wickham – Eb

Closing – Oh, Praise Him – Crowder – G

2nd: The team –

3 female backup vox
1 male backup vox
3 guitars: 1 acoustic + 1 electric + me on my Gretsch
bass
drums
percussion

Put those together and what have you got? Bippity Boppity BIGNESS! Oh man, it was FULL! I mean, I don’t typically like alot of backup vocals. I think harmonies can get in the way sometimes but since it was my first time back in a loooong time, I put a call in to some dear friends of mine who used to fill in for me when I led worship and would be out of town. Well this time we could do it together! They’re a husband and wife team with a best friend and they just work incredibly well together. I added a student of mine who loves to sing and so the vocals were STACKED. We had fun trading off lead parts as well which was great for me.

I led All to You and Wholly Yours completely by myself.
I split verses with Matt on I will Not Forget You and Oh, Praise Him.
Matt led You’re Beautiful.
Alyssa led Hosanna.

Another BIGNESS came from 3 guitars! Seriously, there’s no other way to go! Matt led rhythmically on his acoustic, Jim did lead on the electric, and I filled in the between on my Gretsch. It was so much fun for me because I didn’t have to do alot honestly 🙂 I got to play simple clean stuff or with mild distortion to build some bigness. It really showed though. I’ve played Oh, Praise Him easily 1,000 times but this was the best time ever!

We pushed 95/96 which also a great way to fill the room. We kind of had to with the intensity of the songs!

Such a great morning all around! Praise God from whom all blessings flow!

How was your Sunday? Have you participated in Fred’s Sunday Setlist? You should!

4 Responses to “Sunday Setlist March 29 – I’m baaaaaack”


  1. 1 Wendy
    March 30, 2009 at 5:08 am

    Yep. It was GREAT. Been missing the excitement lately. The difference between wanting to listen vs. wanting to participate. You brought the party.

  2. March 30, 2009 at 5:32 am

    Great list! The two Crowder songs are high on my list of favorites. We also used Hosanna this week.

    Just one guitar though…

  3. March 30, 2009 at 1:55 pm

    Yeah Ronnie, Crowder’s stuff is pretty versatile to do with 1 guitar or a slew of effects. This was pretty special because with 3 guitars it was GINORMOUS! I loved it 🙂

    Thanks Wendy! It was an absolute joy to do worship Sunday, NOT that it’s NOT doing Youth (believe me I’m secure in my current role!!) but man Sunday was awesome!

  4. March 31, 2009 at 2:35 am

    That’s so cool. I also used to play during worship services as a keyboardist. It feels o good to be able to use your talents for God’s glory… Continue on with the Lord’s work =)


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


