13
Apr
09

2009 Most Played Easter Songs

Fred McKinnon has a killer thing happening every Sunday called Sunday Setlists. If you blog and go to church you should get involved. I don’t have any evidence from last year but this year looks like a pretty modern list of new and current songs!

Out of the 49 churches represented, I give you the Most Played Easter Songs for this year according to Sunday Setlists:

  1. Mighty to Save – Hillsong – 16 churches
  2. Happy Day – Tim Hughes – 10 churches
  3. Christ the Lord is Risen Today – 9 churches
  4. Jesus Messiah – Chris Tomlin – 8
  5. Jesus Paid it All – Kristian Stanfill – 8
  6. In Christ Alone – Stuart Townsend? Matt Papa? Traditional? – 7
  7. My Redeemer Lives – Hillsong – 7
  8. How Great is Our God – Tomlin – 6
  9. All Because of Jesus – Steve Fee – 5
  10. I Will Rise – Tomlin – 4

There were some INCREDIBLE sets out there. My favorite was one that included Foo Fighter’s My Hero for their offering (ugh…they are my hero!) followed closely with the church that did U2’s Pride (in the Name of Love) for their prelude! Some real traditional sets. Sets with choirs, full bands, the whole mix. What I didn’t pay attention to were the arrangements and that’s a bid deal for songs like Jesus Paid it All and In Christ Alone that have been revamped but…oh well.

Chris Tomlin holds the ground it appears as the most popular artist in church today 🙂 But I was stoked to see All Because of Jesus up there!

Honorable mentions go out to: Phil Wickham’s True Love, The Wonderful Cross, Crowder’s Here is our King, and Hillsong’s Lead Me to the Cross.

So, did I miss you? List your songs below or head over to Fred’s Blog Carnival for Sunday Setlists!

21 Responses to “2009 Most Played Easter Songs”


  1. April 13, 2009 at 10:10 am

    im posting my set very soon…finally away from some eggs to do so. lol

  2. April 13, 2009 at 10:17 am

    Yep! I would have so say those 10 songs had Easter Sunday on lock down. Foo Fighters?!?!?! I missed that set list- but props to them. haha I knew “Mighty To Save” would be in heavy rotation. I also saw New Life Church’s “Overcome” quite a bit!

  3. April 13, 2009 at 10:22 am

    That’ll teach me to not get my list in on time…:)

  4. April 13, 2009 at 10:38 am

    We did 1, 2, and 5, along with a few others not listed here.

  5. April 13, 2009 at 1:31 pm

    Huh….we didn’t play any of these yesterday. Our set went like this:

    Intro video re: worship
    Your Grace Is Enough – Tomlin – A
    Power In the Blood – B (REAL bluegrassy! Our fiddle player is amazing!)
    Can’t Get No Satisfaction (The sermon title was “Rolling Stone Easter,” so we did a minute or so of this during the sermon intro. It went great! Our new lead player nailed the riff.)
    Unchanging – Tomlin – G#
    Glory In the Highest – Tomlin – C
    Video: Animation set to Tony Campolo’s “It’ Friday but Sunday’s Comin'”
    He Reigns – Newsboys – C (We play this a lot at our church. Great celebration song.)

    I guess it’s fair to say we play our share of Tomlin like everyone else out there. It’s hard not to.

  6. April 13, 2009 at 1:41 pm

    I hate to rain in anyone’s parade, but I guess I just don’t get the hype around Mighty to Save. I agree it’s a fun song to play and it’s got a good beat, but to me it just feels like “Worship Song Mad Libs.” To me it sounds like it took about 15 minutes to write, and that includes the first two rough drafts. Like they grabbed catch phrases from other worship songs that had the correct number of syllables and made them rhyme. I don’t feel like there’s really a good flow to the thought progression. It’s kind of the worship version of country music – written for radio and you can pretty much turn your brain off.

    We played it a fair amount when it first came out. I’m surprised it’s still going so strong.

    I apologize if to anyone who ranks this as their favorite song. It’s just never done it for me. The rest of the list, however, is high quality.

  7. 7 Ali
    April 13, 2009 at 4:22 pm

    You can add another church to the list that played Might to Save, In Christ Alone and Happy Day. St. Timothy on the Northshore, UMC in Mandeville played them as well.

    For the offertory there was a female vocalist who sang “Why?” by Nichole Nordeman. It was mesmerizing! I fully intended on putting some money in the plate but I was paying so much attention to the song that I didn’t even notice until the song ended that I had missed it.

    I don’t remember all of the other songs they did. One of them was very nice though– they did a lead male vocalist with 2 female harmonies around him.

    Look at me contributing to your blog!! =)

  8. April 13, 2009 at 7:16 pm

    Glad my non-scientific perusal of the lists did get the Top 3 correct 🙂 We did 1, 2 and 8 for the record.

    and @Matt – Mighty To Save, though we do it, is one of my least fave Reuben Morgan/Hillsong songs. But it’s taken off and speaks to a lot of people. And it’s not about personal taste is it really.

    I do love the Shine your light tag though…

  9. April 13, 2009 at 9:10 pm

    Hey David, I saw your Tweet and I got really interested in finding out what was going on. So thanks.

    Really Matt? I don’t know, I really do like the song. My biggest problem is the bridge, while I love the surge, for me the connection between it and the rest of the song is the biggest stretch but I dig it.

    YAY YAY ALI!! Haha 🙂

  10. April 14, 2009 at 3:44 pm

    Blast! I thought I was all special and unique for doing ‘True Love.’ Although we did do The Darkness’ ‘I Believe in a Thing Called Love.’ Bet no one can top that. Just kidding.

  11. April 15, 2009 at 8:36 am

    @David,@WC, thanks for not ripping me a new one. Rereading my post it came off as a little harsh. You’re right, it’s absolutely not about my taste, but more of leading people into the throneroom of God. If a particular song moves people to worship, then bring it on!

    I guess I sometimes try to keep a close eye on keeping worship from being ONLY, MERELY, an emotional experience (though emotion is a huge part of any relationship, human or spiritual). I may be risking my eternal destiny here (completely tongue in cheek), but I’ve not become a huge Hillsong/United fan. I think it has to do with the emotional “everybody/everywhere/allthetime/wholeworld/never/always/overstated” themes that run through their music, and I see MTS as the culmination of that…..maybe? I relate a lot better personally to themes in Crowder’s music because I see myself as such a sinful person and I relate better to the way he works through those thoughts in his life: “There’s darkeness in my skin, my cover’s wearing thin, I’d love to start again, go back to innocence and never leave…….” but ultimately resolve with the celebratory “RESCUE IS COMING!”

    Ok, that was longer than I meant to make it. Sorry to commandeer to your blog @WC.

  12. April 16, 2009 at 6:43 pm

    Ha hey Matt, don’t ever apologize for engaging in conversation here! It’s what it’s all about.
    You better get used to Hillsong/United, I hear Jesus is a big fan! HA now that was tongue in cheek 🙂
    I know what you mean. I love more their musicality than I do the lyrics. I’m with you. I see the issue. Funny, because I hadn’t read your comment until tonight and today my soundtrack was Crowder and I found myself almost in tears over this mix CD I had found titles: Awesome Reverent Crowder. It truly was awesome and his combination of music and lyrics resonates with my soul like nothing else really.
    Interestingly enough though, I don’t find that the issue with MTS. It’s mostly all about Jesus and our need for him. Take songs like “Everyday” even one of my favorites “None like Jesus” I find myself so far from honestly being able to sing them sometimes.

    Good stuff brother. Enjoy Wilco tonight! Get off center to the left so you’re close to Nels!

  13. June 5, 2009 at 9:12 am

    We used 3 of the top songs on Easter, as well. I have to agree with Matt, though. We need some critical thinking about Mighty to Save. Check out a brief reflection on a portion of that song on my blog:

    http://www.zachicks.com/?p=99

    When I first heard the song, I thought it was “Mad Libs,” as Matt said. I think the chorus (taken from Zeph 3:17) is what makes the song for people. It ties in our victory to Christ’s victory. A subtle nod toward the doctrine of union with Christ. My church engages with this song…it seems to inspire people and strengthen them with the reality of being joined to Christ’s resurrection. The second verse is just a bit too triumphal for me (I can’t sing it honestly)…and it’s not just about a preference, it’s about being honest before God. Again, I’d love interaction with my post.

  14. May 12, 2013 at 9:18 pm

    May it be for personal or gift-giving purposes, buying a pearl necklace is something not
    to be shrugged upon, considering that its popularity has paved the way for pearl frauds and shenanigans
    to become widespread and rampant. The gift of a pink pearl
    can leave a wonderful impression of delight and happiness in someone.
    A pearl collar generally contains 2 or more strands (often 3 or more) and sits right in the middle
    of your neck.

  15. May 15, 2013 at 12:58 pm

    How many times have you heard of a person saying their interest started as a hobby,
    and had no idea that it would develop into a new financially gainful career.
    The gift of a pink pearl can leave a wonderful impression
    of delight and happiness in someone. So now, you not only found a place to
    hang your necklaces, but you also found a place to hang your earrings and
    bracelets.

  16. May 23, 2013 at 2:03 am

    Hi there very nice web site!! Man .. Beautiful ..
    Amazing .. I’ll bookmark your site and take the feeds additionally? I’m happy to find numerous useful info here in the
    publish, we want develop extra strategies in this regard, thanks for
    sharing. . . . . .

  17. May 26, 2013 at 10:20 am

    Each unique signature inside pattern will show you the year in which your silverware is made, and
    ultimately their value. This could prove very useful inside the future as
    of course items is certain to get broken and you also won’t have to concern yourself then with the need to try and find replacements especially in the event you purchased a unique set. The anticipation builds since the aromas reach their peak and awareness heightens that your meals are moving from your kitchen to the table.

  18. July 14, 2013 at 5:49 pm

    They help to build the imagination of the child and
    make for wonderful past times that work the brain and the creative faculties.
    Christmas comes round quickly and is almost upon us
    yet again. With so many different characters, the option to play the story
    as a villain, and so many activities to do on Lego Batman, it can be played over and
    over.

  19. July 26, 2013 at 9:40 am

    Or (using the 608) you can use those speakers as a stereo in another room.
    The key is to maintain the work area elegant and focus for the task at hand.

    A handy tip, build a code and marking system to identify your wires
    and all of your respective components prior to starting laying things down.

  20. August 4, 2013 at 9:44 am

    Moreover, quality outdoor speakers prevents
    the hazards connected with water exposure, particularly fire and
    electrocution. Display all those speakers according to where they’re going to need to go in the real environment, pick a CD or DVD and give it a try. Get a notebook and take notes on all of the settings for every change you are making to each track.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


