20
Apr
09

Do Your Youth Pray?

Last night was our first night back at youth after a 2 week hiatus and I wanted to put some practice into the lessons on prayer we had before we hit our Easter activities so we did a ‘walkabout.’ I’m not sure if that’s exactly the right terminology but I just watched Australia and the verbage was stuck in my head. Maybe a ‘guided prayer tour’ is a more accurate description.

SO we started off in the santuary where we wrapped up our interactive games with wiffiti and I described our walkabout. We started out in the:

  • Sanctuary where we prayed for our church. We have a new building coming up, searching for a new pastor, and this feels like my 1st year as full time Youth Pastor. We then moved on to:
  • Children’s Wing where we prayed over the areas of ministry where most of them serve. We don’t hold high school events in the morning and many of my students serve either in in the nursery/elementary classrooms or for media in the elementary worship service. Then it was:
  • Outside to the street where we prayed for the people who drove past our church and that God’s name would be spread to the community. Then it was to:
  • The Bubba Shack which is a condemned building on our property that we’re trying to get rid of 🙂 We prayed for the homeless and those less fortunate than ourselves. And ended up:
  • In front of the church where we prayed for the worldwide church herself. That above the name of River Community church that Jesus Christ’s name would be raised up and glorified.
  • We ended back in the sanctuary where I prayed for the guys and the girls and specifically for our group as a whole.

Overall, I did alot of praying…by myself. Well outloud by myself. A couple of my leaders popped in but student engagement: not so much. Now I told them at the beginning they could silently along but I was really hoping they’d engage audibly. I knew it might go down this way, we don’t have too many opportunities to pray out loud like this. I didn’t care too much though, I thought if nothing else though they’d see that everything we’d just talked about during the last lesson was something that I believed and not just something I talked about.

So what about your group? A praying bunch? I loved the excersize though. We’ll do it again. One of the best things was walking outside I asked them if anyone felt this was a little awkward and a couple said YES. I just smiled and said GOOD 🙂 I like it when they’re slightly uncomfortable.

2 Responses to “Do Your Youth Pray?”


  1. April 20, 2009 at 10:32 pm

    Here’s a few blog posts I’ve done on some prayer “walkabouts”, as you call it; it’s mostly just our students’ journaled thoughts after the walks:

    * 2008: http://elevatingageneration.org/2008/07/23/praying-through-the-neighborhood/

    * 2007: http://elevatingageneration.org/2007/05/30/prayer-walk-experiences/

    I look forward to these experiences year after year. Several of our students really connect with the exercise.

  2. April 21, 2009 at 12:09 pm

    “Children’s Wing where we prayed over the areas of ministry where most of them serve. We don’t hold high school events in the morning and many of my students serve either in in the nursery/elementary classrooms or for media in the elementary worship service.”

    Dude, that is awesome! My wife is the Children’s director at our church and we can’t convince hardly any of the youth to volunteer. They show up for service #1 for “their” service and then bail before service #2… Although, we have had an uptic in interest from the Junior Highers lately.


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


