26
Jun
09

Transformers takes its Revenge on the Box Office but Beware!

Transformers Revenge of the Fallen

Transformers 2 or it’s full title: Transformers Revenge of the Fallen is about to take in $100m and is on pace to set a record breaking opening for a 5 day take. Bravo! As someone who loves entertainment, that is a huge feat and something admirable. However, call it ‘old age’ or call it my ‘youth pastor eyes’ settling in, I’ve got to ask: is it really?

I really wanted to love this movie! I had some beef with the transforming and actual movements/clarity of the actual Transformers in the first one, it just seemed sloppy and you couldn’t really tell what was happening in the fight scenes. WOW, they totally fixed that! It’s quite stunning the effects and how good they’ve gotten them for these ginormous metallic beasts!

However, my beef with this movie is Michael Bay’s pushing the envelope for his PG-13 rating. It’s no secret I truly despise Bay’s Actiomedies, but for a movie based off of a child’s play toy this is NOT A MOVIE FOR CHILDREN…can I say that again? For a movie based on toys this is NOT A MOVIE FOR THE CHILDREN WHO PLAY WITH THESE TOYS! To not do more damage than good here I’m simply list my issues and allow that to be your warning:

  • Language – sure there isn’t an f-bomb dropped but nearly every other foul word is and multiple times
  • Sensuality – we had just a taste of it in the first one. From dogs humping to robot scrotums to college shenanigans to that weird guy’s butt in addition to having another sexy vixen added showing off her assets on top of what we already get from Meghan Fox.
  • Drug usage – Mom gets a dose of some ‘green brownies’ and trips out on campus
  • Violence – sure it’s mostly battle scenes with robots but wowzers there’s alot
  • Length – it’s 2 and a half hours long! Crikey! My attention span is hard enough to hold for that long!

Now you might say: DANG THAT MAKES FOR A GREAT MOVIE! And as a 30 yr old I might agree with you! As a Dad bringing my kid or a Youth leader bringing  my group I’d say “Woah Nelly!” Just make sure you know what you’re getting yourself into.

As far as the critics are complaining about plot and character development and emotions: IT’S A MOVIE ABOUT ROBOTS! I didn’t think the plot was that hard to follow. It was ALOT of set up for a 45 minute fight scene. Was it all necessary? Probably not. Made for some cool back story though but I’m not sure I’m better for it. I thought the character’s emotions were right on. Again, the crux of this is on the robots. The people are there to run and scream 🙂
Let’s be honest with what we have here: an over the top summer blockbuster action movie made by Michael Bay so it’s got some goofy shenanigans in it. So it’s a great entertaining break from the heat and they’ll blow up everything in the movie so it’s even more fun to see in the theaters…and by the looks of it, it’ll be there for a while!

8 Responses to “Transformers takes its Revenge on the Box Office but Beware!”


  1. June 26, 2009 at 10:15 pm

    This may be the most informative review of a Michael Bay movie I’ve ever read.

    And I find myself wanting more…

  2. June 27, 2009 at 9:06 am

    Yea I’ve heard a couple of really frustrated reviewers. I’ve pretty much decided not to see the movie. Maybe I’ll go watch Gran Torino again..

  3. 3 Jeff T.
    June 27, 2009 at 4:27 pm

    I saw it opening day and was horribly disappointed…

    Before the news came out online, I was in the theater, commenting to my buddy that the twin Autobots were totally racist and nobody seemed to notice!

    They visually pimped Megan Fox for the whole movie and the whole thing seems to have been aimed at dirty junior high boys.

    Great graphics are what we expected but outside of that, I thought it wasn’t just not appropriate as a family movie – it was a pretty crap movie – period.

  4. June 27, 2009 at 10:47 pm

    Neil – THANKS man 🙂

    Stephen – I must watch that movie.

    Jeff – see I’ve heard that about the ‘racist’ twins but I didn’t get it! Yeah, they had a gold tooth and talked junky and couldn’t read. I don’t get how that says they were black? Mud flaps? That indicates hillbilly or redneck to me! I don’t know. That’s again part of Michael Bay that I hate. I mean just the whole thing with that and the wrecking ball scrotum…sheesh…I imagine that dude having no tact or class.

  5. June 28, 2009 at 9:31 pm

    I hated the first one for its language and “visual pimping,” along with the lack of intelligent writing.

    A friend of mine remarked that #2 makes the first one look Oscar-worthy, and it sounds like you’re backing that up. This is too bad, because I’d love to watch a decent Transformers movie with my sons, but I’m not subjecting them to this.

  6. June 30, 2009 at 12:32 pm

    I really liked the movie for the end scene. There was enough fight scenes interspersed that it wasn’t ridiculously boring until the end. That was about all I liked.

    What really bummed me out here was that I was thinking that I would probably be able to show a 10-11 year old the first one. I would definitely hold off, because it’s like Star Wars – you start with one, you do them all.

    I was even OK with the weird butt scene, but there were a lot of verbal content that really really bothered me. Almost every adult agrees that sexting is a really bad thing for kids, but there is like a 20-30 second exchange about “unmentionable pictures on our phones”. That’s just not cool, and not necessary for the movie.

    It’s like that weird and awkward dance/sex/whatever you call it scene in the second matrix – not necessary.

  7. June 30, 2009 at 10:07 pm

    pkillur – I called that the inappropriate unnecessary rave scene to fast forward through in Matrix 2 🙂


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


