29
Jul
09

Get Ready for Forgotten God!

I love Jesus!

I also love Francis Chan 🙂

I’m so stoked for this book Forgotten God: Reversing our Tragic Neglect of the Holy Spirit.

I’ll let Francis tell you about it:

PREORDER? Yes thank you!

4 Responses to “Get Ready for Forgotten God!”


  1. July 29, 2009 at 3:35 pm

    Sounds cool, but I take issue with that last statement . . . He says that its not about us but the Spirit (true) . . . which makes us amazingly powerful people (false). We are NOT amazingly powerful people. We are a creation that should exist in a reverent awe and fear of a Holy God, Who can destroy the body . . . and the spirit. I am not saying that we should walk around like dogs with our tails between our legs, but I do know that there is a haughty spirit espoused in Christendom today, through blogs, books, music, conferences, church planting networks, etc., that spews that we are more . . . than we really are. My motto is . . . “HE IS. I am not.” As believers we must embrace that. If we take away the “not” and the phrase states: “HE IS. I am.”, well, that’s a whole nutha’ conversation. It is a dangerous thing to claim power that is to be attributed to the Holy Spirit. Scripture describes that as blasphemy, which is unforgivable. I am not try to get uber-religious, but to say that we are powerful because the Spirit lives in us is to say that the purpose for the Spirit is to make us powerful, rather than the true purpose which was to draw us savingly unto the Father, and to continue to convict us of sin so that we may repent, and strive to the goal, the pursuit, of holiness that we are commanded to seek, never achieving until we are in Glory. That is the purpose. To strive to be like Jesus. Striving to be that which we cannot, and being powerful . . . are diametrical opposites. Man’s chief end and purpose is to glorify God and enjoy Him forever. We glorify God by not espousing some man created idea of power we have because of the indwelling of the Holy Spirit, but we glorify God by pointing to Him in all things, and by pursuing Him.
    Just sayin’
    Jason

  2. July 29, 2009 at 9:57 pm

    Jason I think he meant we are Spiritually powerful when we rely on the Holy Spirit.

    powerful in that we are able to do things we aren’t able to do on our own.

    Now: I watched this video literally 5 minutes ago from a completely different source, so that’s random, and I think Chan is brilliant, and I can’t wait to read the book.

  3. 3 msmucker
    December 25, 2009 at 10:18 pm

    Hi guys! I just finished “Forgotten God” and have wrote up some discussion questions on my site: http://smuckerfamily.wordpress.com/. I’d be happy to hear your thoughts, dig a little deeper into Chan’s book, and consider its implications for our lives.
    ~Matt

  4. January 10, 2010 at 12:50 am

    Nice Post! I am reading and Forgotten God right now and blogging all about it. See what I am writing at http://whatsnextgod.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 25 other followers

Categorical Listings


