03
Sep
09

When Churches Play Together

Last night something awesome happened. Two churches cared more about the name of Jesus than the name on the front of the buildings! At the beginning of the Summer I took my youth group over to Church of the Highlands for a little Mudd Volleyball. Now at the end of the Summer they came over to River and we got crazy out on our field. I think it’s a beautiful thing when churches play together.

Middle of the week activities are not normal for my group so I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t just a bit terrified of the turnout. Praise God we had about a dozen middle school and high schoolers turn up. Highlands brought about 15 and we played my 2nd favorite game Bologna Face to break the proverbial ice 🙂
Next came some fun with inner tubes and a vicious 4 way Tug ‘o War rope. By this time, even with the unusually beautiful Louisiana weather, we were dog tired. Jacob and I led a short devotional on what Godly community looks like. I think even the joint venture with another group is a beautiful picture that we’re not alone in our community doing this. We’re a part of something larger than ourselves and there’s strength in numbers.

This gave us the refreshed energy to play some Banana Ultimate Frisbee. It really is hysterical. All it takes is for that banana to get dropped just 1x or a few catches and things get mushy. Mushy = good fun when talking youth.

I’d like to continue doing this. I’d love for it to become something we “do” at River. Do you play well in your community? Have any suggestions?

3 Responses to “When Churches Play Together”


  1. 1 Alastair Vance
    September 3, 2009 at 10:04 am

    That is cool. I hope you guys keep doing this – get more churches involved. Have a tournament!

  2. 2 joy fabre
    September 3, 2009 at 12:33 pm

    Thanks Conner for taking such interest in our young people!!! Clara (11) would not have missed this event for the world. I am so thankful that our church has such a wonderful group of young folks that are as enthusiastic as our wild and crazy youth pastor. I appreciate all of your hard work and dedication to furthering God’s kingdom and we are always praying for you and your family. I love that we are involved with other church groups! This is what it is all about and I can’t thank you enough for your love for our youngsters!!!!!
    xoxo

  3. September 3, 2009 at 9:22 pm

    Thanks Alastair! Ya’ll coming down here 1st or we going up there?

    Hey thanks Joy! Clara is AWE-SOME! She’s moved in with our dance team and youth group and is completely legit! We had so much fun last night and I’m so glad Clara was there. I couldn’t do it without my leaders. Kim, Casey, and Steph are amazing. As are the rest of them. I hope I tell them THANK YOU enough!


Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 24 other followers

Categorical Listings


