20
Jun
08

The Car Ride I’ll Never Forget: Life Lesson #97

Some tales just need to be told.

It began as most Sundays would begin however it took a slight turn when Rae and the family came to church with a friend so that we could all ride home together. I was elated! This would be so much fun. As I began to get into the car, Chloe asked me to help her into her carseat to which I enthusiastically obliged! With everyone set and buckled in we began our drive home laughing and discussing how my last Sunday went and what our Father’s Day activities would be when all of a sudden…BING…BAMBOOM… I look in my rearview mirror to see this thing black object bouncing down the highway now several yards behind us. It’s amazing how fast the mind can work in a matter of a second. Initially, blew it off. Then I realized something all together horrible.
Rae inquisitively asked: Was that a piece of a tire?
no… I replied
Was it a stick or something?
no
Well what?
i think it was my iPhone
NO!

Sure enough it wasn’t in my pocket or on the seat next to me! I had been going 65 mph down the highway in the fastlane and surely it was in pieces littered across both lanes by now. I pulled a wicked Uey and sped back down to where I thought it fell off the hood of the car and pulled another wicked Uey and began to creep along.
Pulling off to the shoulder and seeing my iPhone face down in the middle of the road was the most horrific site I’ve ever seen. I know one day my children will do something that will trump that, but to date I don’t know if there’s been something more disturbing.
I ran out and nabbed it before another wave of cars came down. Gashes all across the case. Oddly enough the screen seemed completely unaffected. I waited until I got in the car and held my breath while I tried turning it on…
slide to unlock
flashed across the screen!

That happened Sunday. It’s worked completely normal and fine all week long! A phone that can fall off a car traveling 65 mph and I’m telling you, bounced and skipped along a highway as beat up as Airline and doesn’t get a scratch or reset or have any problems is a phone I want!

Thank you Agent 18 iPhone cases! The Eco SHIELD is an appropriate name!
Thank you Steve Jobs 🙂

Note to self: Keep phone in pocket until getting INTO the car.
Life Lesson #97: Setting phone on the top of the car with kids that will inevitably distract you is not a good idea!


4 Responses to “The Car Ride I’ll Never Forget: Life Lesson #97”


  1. June 20, 2008 at 11:20 am

    Remember to count your blessings because life can always be worse…. Better to leave the iPhone on top of the car than a kid….

  2. June 20, 2008 at 11:36 am

    HAHA! Too true Matt. Any more thoughts on a name for yours?

  3. June 20, 2008 at 12:02 pm

    WOW! Amazing build quality I must say.

    I was also thinking that you somehow managed to leave a child’s seat outside or something… I was praying for the past. 🙂

  4. June 20, 2008 at 12:33 pm

    “seeing my iPhone face down in the middle of the road was the most horrific site I’ve ever seen.”

    That’s funny.

    I’m happy you didn’t lose it for good. I would’ve freaked out.


Leave a comment


Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 23 other subscribers

Categorical Listings